Introduction

A blog of thoughts about financial and economic issues, in the hope that someone might find them useful. Or at least give me a record of my attempts to understand the world around me. I’m an independent investor whose only source of income is the investment returns on my assets. As a result, I care about truth and reality, not the smoke screens put up by the self-interest of the investment industry and the government. That doesn’t mean I won’t trade along with a lie, but it does mean I want to know that I am doing so. There is a famous saying from George Soros, the well-known hedge fund operator:

“Economic history is a never-ending series of episodes based on falsehoods and lies, not truths. It represents the path to big money. The object is to recognize the trend whose premise is false, ride that trend, and step off before it is discredited.”

Words to heed. This blog will contain my thoughts on what’s fact and what’s fiction along with editorial asides and rants that will no doubt have a decidedly libertarian and Austrian (economics) bent. Nothing in this blog should be taken as investment advice of any kind.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.